Marika Malaea

faithful marauder + fake royal

No Joke, It’s Tuesday

with 4 comments

Had I written something lovely about anyone on Tuesday, it would have been tidbit bistro, one of my favorite Seattle restaurants.

Since I’ve mentioned them before — yes, I’m an uberfan, which isn’t even a word, or shouldn’t be — I’m just going to state the things I find incredible about this restaurant without getting too gushy (though it might be too late):

They have over 13,000 followers on Twitter. That is a ridiculous number.

The tapas are to. die. for. Cheesy bits, fried bits, salad bits, pasta bits. I’ve never had a “bit” there I didn’t love, or fantasize about later on.

I hate salad, but love their Caesar. It’s the size of the Titanic and has so much cheese you can barely cut through it. I even added white anchovies, something far too weird-sounding and fishy for me to ever enjoy, and yet. AND YET.

The [totally amazing despite the word vegan] vegan chocolate gelato served in a giant cocoa pod shells. Ohmigod.

The owners, who are just too nice and adorable for boring English words. They gave us swag the last time we were there, I mean c’mon. I love swag as much as I love carbs and name-dropping.

Half-priced wine on Tuesdays, half-priced pasta on Wednesdays, and 3-courses for $25, every day of the week. I know that people love their vino, but seriously, half-priced pasta?!?! That deal goes straight to my heart (also hips, thighs, and waistline).

It’s affordable, while also being nice.

I know you’re like, ‘Dude, I’ve been to a good restaurant before.’ So have I, but these guys treat us like friends or family, and it’s not like we’re there every week. I appreciate that they know my name when I walk in, that they’re genuinely nice people, that they work hard. And the food/service is crazy amazing, or maybe just cramazing. You want them to succeed because they deserve it.

I hear they’re moving, which is cool, but they’ll still be on Capitol Hill. I personally think they should move to West Seattle, or open a second shop, half a block from my house. Take the tidbit challenge! Go there and see for yourself.

Written by sn0tteh

May 6, 2010 at 8:19 PM

Posted in Uncategorized

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. so tempting…i will shoot for july to go to a lovely dinner there. sounds devine.

    mafiamama

    May 7, 2010 at 9:47 AM

  2. You would love it!

    sn0tteh

    May 7, 2010 at 9:50 AM

  3. This sounds delicious! I love tapas, not to mention the chocolate gelato…

    By the way, you might be interested in entering this ‘food & travel’ writing comp: http://grantourismotravels.com/2010/05/05/grantourismo-travel-blogging-competition-may/. If you have a memorable food experience from your travels, please do feel free to share it with us. We’d love to hear from you!

    Anca Popa

    May 10, 2010 at 8:47 AM

  4. I love that place – especially meeting your fine friends (the Lawrence clan stands out, among many). Tidbit is like a cleaner, better tasting version of my own kitchen (with talent and presentation that I don’t have). Breayne loved it, too! We should throw down again.

    Ross

    May 11, 2010 at 10:09 PM


Leave a Reply

