Marika Malaea

faithful marauder + fake royal

A Super Snotty Update

with 2 comments

Hi, remember me? I used to blog here. Then I got a job and a sorta-kinda life, and that’s when I received an Invisibility Cloak that my dead parents gifted to me through my awesome gay mentor at Hogwarts, so I’ve been busy having adventures all over the castle. See, I haven’t blogged in a while, so now I’m just stealing straight from Harry Potter. In reality, I’m just a Muggle.

I have so many things going on – essays unfinished, blog posts nearly done, projects close to completion – but work is taking a front seat and then submitting actual writing comes second – after that is stuff I want to do (blogging, throwing costume parties, competing in the Olympics), but it’s on the same level as ‘spend time with boyfriend I never see anymore’ and ‘get four hours of sleep.’ Add to that the Lottery’s complete disregard for my lucky numbers, and I’m pretty busy/broke. But very, very happy! I like being busy, though my time management skills leave something to be desired.

Work is cool – I’m interviewing all kinds of interesting people in the cancer community (some you’ve even heard of!), and trying to stay afloat amidst the marketing flotsam and jetsam. Writing is also good (as evidenced by this crappy sentence and lackluster adjective). I finally figured out what I’m going to submit to McSweeney’s, West Seattle Blog, Seattle Mag, Life As A Human, Fresh Yarn, and City Arts. My only problem being that they’re all separate essays/pieces and I only have so many hours in a week and muscles in my hand for typing. I can’t believe I’m going to say this, but I need an organizer. And by that I mean some lady who comes in and organizes my life for me, while I go on vacation and drink from a coconut on the beach.

The best highlights from 2010 thus far: competing in the Lovers’ Quarrel Cardboard Tube Fight at Cal Anderson Park with the Esq and the monster (and hot dogs at PoDog for our Valentines Day meal!); being asked to do wedding cakes for two of my favorite couples this summer; board game gatherings in our den; the Seattle Boudoir Photography event; and exploring West Seattle. Thanks to global warming and a very-early Spring, we’ve walked quite a bit around our neighborhood, and we love it. If I didn’t work in Fremont half the week, I’d probably never leave.

There’s a thousand more things I have to report, but this is where the ride ends. I’ll finish the Firefly post this week and have it up soon. There’s also a new blog design in the works – I’m enjoying using Tumblr but haven’t had the time to set everything up yet – which will enable me to post more consistently. My next day off will be dedicated to just that… which is… an upcoming Tuesday. In July. In 2013.

Written by sn0tteh

March 4, 2010 at 2:28 PM

Posted in Uncategorized

Tagged with , ,

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. i miss your blogs. mafia monday’s are going to be back before we know it!!

    jenny

    March 5, 2010 at 2:40 PM

  2. Thanks, Jenny!

    sn0tteh

    March 16, 2010 at 10:38 PM


Leave a Reply

