Marika Malaea

faithful marauder + fake royal

Spare Any Change?

with 4 comments

There are cravings of all kinds at this hour; I’d say I’m having most of them right now. In no particular order, I’m craving: movies, men, furniture, freedom, hugs, literature, chocolate, canvas, shoes, smokes, cupcakes, linens, a washer and dryer, fake chicken, love, sleep, a bubble bath, and a foot rub. I’d like at least half of those right now, but it looks like I’ll be getting, in no particular order:  movies, smokes and possibly a bath. But I’ll probably be too lazy to draw one.

So said I in January 2006. What has changed since then?

I download movies now, thanks to the kickass guy I’m living with (movies + men, check!). In the three years we’ve been together, he’s given me hugs, love, literature, furniture, foot rubs, shoes, and freedom, so cross those off the list. I’ve got plenty of canvas for painting, thanks to the cleaning out of my closet, and there’s a washer/dryer in our new home – check and check. There’s real chicken in the fridge – for dinner tonight – and ingredients for homemade chocolate cupcakes (which I always have on hand, or else what’s the point of life?), so checkity-check. Plus I kicked the cancer sticks for good in 2009 (for reals!) and my linen situation is decent. Double-check. I wonder what it means to be the type of person who is conscious of and gives a shit about their ‘linen situation’ (ex: Martha Stewart), but I don’t want to know. It doesn’t bode well.

Sadly, we don’t have a bathtub, just a European shower. But I can give up the bubbles in exchange for the rest. It’s weird how time flies.

Written by sn0tteh

January 25, 2010 at 4:15 PM

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I took an oatmeal bath in our tub today. While I was getting dressed the dogs jumped in the tub and ate all of the “used” oatmeal.

    Elizabeth

    January 25, 2010 at 7:21 PM

  2. How perfectly frightening!

    sn0tteh

    January 25, 2010 at 7:53 PM

  3. Didn’t I see TWO washers and dryers? BONUS.

    MarkThrust

    January 25, 2010 at 11:19 PM

  4. Yes! We are all stocked up on appliances from the 70’s.

    sn0tteh

    January 26, 2010 at 12:15 AM


Leave a Reply

