Marika Malaea

faithful marauder + fake royal

Break A Leg

with 4 comments

So I guess there’s a health care debate/debacle going on. I don’t really care.

Oh, I’m supposed to – we’re all supposed to – but upon further inspection, it looks like my instincts were right the first time, and now I care even less.

I typed ‘health care’ into Google, and this is what popped up first:

An Expensive Health Care Agenda – Newsweek

Can Pelosi Win Over Wary Dems on Health Care? – TIME

Palin gets tough on Democrats’ health care proposals – CNN

I started to read the Newsweek article, but was drooling into my keyboard by the second paragraph. Health care is a scorching debate topic – leading to things like raised anxiety, Town Hall fistfights, and Barney Frank smackdowns – but reading about it will make your eyes blur, and then they will bleed. I was going to read the TIME article, but was sidetracked by the news that Nancy Pelosi apparently still has a political career, which was really nothing compared to the reaction I had when faced – yet again – with Sarah ‘Death Panel’ Palin. I’m sorry, but does this woman hold an important political office somewhere? I’m pretty sure she’s just your average absentee breeder from some state up north; she’s not a mayor, governor, or vice presidential hopeful. 200,000 Alaskans went without health insurance at some point in 2008, and she never moved to correct that. Then she quit, with some of the best you-can’t-make-this-shit-up phrases in the history of resignation speeches (Favorite: “We are facing tough challenges in America, with some seeming to just be hell-bent maybe on tearing down our nation, perpetuating some pessimism and suggesting American apologetics…”). And people with brains everywhere rejoiced. So how her opinion matters in the health care debate baffles me, especially now that she’s proven herself completely irrelevant – which wasn’t that hard and didn’t take long.


The Esq said something to the effect of this: “Don’t you think people should be able to walk into a hospital and be taken care of, without a ton of paperwork, no matter what’s wrong or how much money they have?” My answer is yes. Yes, I would like for that Health Care Utopia to exist, much like I want Hogwarts or Thunderdome or Santa Claus to exist. But  I haven’t had health insurance for over a year, and before that I never really had it consistently; the last time I had good insurance was when my parents paid for it. So for 11 years, I’ve been racking up medical bills I will never ever pay – and when I need a doctor, I head to Urgent Care for emergencies and Planned Parenthood for Other Fun Stuff (like pap smears and generic lollipops that taste like plastic).  My 12K surgery in June was paid for by the ‘So You’re A Fucking Charity Case!’ Foundation (not their real name), and I had to cover meds. It literally paid to be poor.

Health care needs to change in this country, because it’s not working for anyone I know, and I know a lot of people. What I don’t know is what needs to happen so that everyone can be served in a way that works for them, or if that’s even the point. I’m pro-universal health care in a perfect world, but I’m not going to get my hopes up. I don’t feel I have better solutions, or even the slightest grasp on how the issue should be approached; that’s why it’s easier to just not care.

I did, however, enjoy reading this.

Written by sn0tteh

September 9, 2009 at 5:41 PM

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. It’s a lot more glamorous to enter a health care debate than it is to shop for health insurance…and it wouldn’t surprise me if most the people so passionate about arguing it have actually performed the latter. More and more, we let it get funneled through our employers…and I sometimes wonder if demanding it (through the power of vote!) as a ‘right’, is another sign of fundamental, American, instant-gratification.

    MarkThrust

    September 9, 2009 at 9:58 PM

  2. The only comment/observation I have is that I’m SOOOOO grateful to be covered under Bryn’s health insurance. Thanks Microsoft!

    Manthony

    September 10, 2009 at 2:58 PM

  3. @Manthony Microsoft has pretty good insurance – I be jealous.

    sn0tteh

    September 11, 2009 at 8:22 AM

  4. @MarkThrust Service industry insurance usually sucks ass, so I’ve rarely gone for it. But shopping for it myself? HELL to the NO.

    sn0tteh

    September 11, 2009 at 8:26 AM


Leave a Reply

