Marika Malaea

faithful marauder + fake royal

The Sweetest Demise

with 2 comments

Thanks to my love for all things Tiny Tim, and also to my Polynesian roots, I’ve always had an appreciation for the small-but-mighty ukulele. We got one for the Esq’s dad for Christmas, but sadly, it makes their dog go bonkers. I thought they should just get rid of the dog, but they have ‘respect for animals,’ or some weird hang-up. Our plant, Rex Manning, died this summer from what others call neglect, but I say he perished in a fire. Like my fish did, although his name – Fish Stick – was fairly prophetic. Hey, I spelled it out for him; he really should have seen that coming.

“I don’t listen to enough ukulele surf rock.” I said that, out loud, just this morning – to myself, like a crazy person. Boy, if I had a dime for every time I’ve said that, I’d be just as fucking broke as I am right now. So while I’m trying new things, I might as well try the ukulele:  tiny instruments and kitsch seem to suit me. To me, surf rock is synonymous with Frankie Avalon and torpedo beach tits, which is awesome, but none of that matters – all I want to do is amuse myself. And maybe do a duet with the nerd at Nerd’s Eye View. Hat tip to her for finding these videos, which I can’t stop playing. I die a cuter and more adorable death, every time I watch them.

UKE 4EVAH

Written by sn0tteh

September 8, 2009 at 1:58 PM

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Those videos are some of the stranger ones I’ve seen! Pretty funny! What language IS that?

    The uke ain’t too bad to learn. If you do, bring it out. I’ll bring my drum and we’ll have a beach jam session.

    Dana

    September 8, 2009 at 6:20 PM

  2. @Dana I personally LOVE these videos – after I figure out the ukulele, we will definitely jam!

    sn0tteh

    September 9, 2009 at 12:48 AM


Leave a Reply

