Marika Malaea

faithful marauder + fake royal

Rainy Day Remix

with 6 comments

If I was a religious woman, I’d thank God for this rainy day – but since I’m more of a happy atheist, I’m just going to thank a rainbow-colored, bacon-flavored unicorn. It’s just as effective.

Rainy days allow you to fuck off in ways you often can’t when it’s sunny. When it’s nice out, there’s purpose in the air – but in Seattle, there’s also a time crunch. You know it’s not going to last forever, so you have to pull out that When Vitamin D Comes A-Calling brochure, and I’ll bet ‘go to work’ isn’t on it. First there’s all of the housework you’ve been putting off for months, because you needed fifty piles of garbage in your dark, oppressive hovel to get you through that winter depression; sun will filter through and create a harsh spotlight for all the ways you’ve become a Hobbit, so fixing that is a priority.

There’s also what I call The L.A. Agenda, which is stuff I imagine people do in Los Angeles when it’s sunny out. Like washing your sports car and sitting in endless traffic, lunching with your stylist, inhaling the smog, getting your teeth whitened, stopping for Botox with your assistant, starfucking B-list celebrities, then shopping all day with reality TV cameras following while wearing avante-garde heels that make you look like a whorish giraffe. And at some point you run into Lindsay Lohan, which is never a positive thing. So now you know what I think of L.A.

Those are things people in Seattle do, too, but with a lot less edge:  usually it’s skipping out of work early, throwing on some flip-flops, and heading to our version of the beach after a Happy Hour spent on deck somewhere. Point being, when you wake up with sun on your face in Seattle, be prepared for the immediate I’m-going-to-get-stuff-done-today-and-nothing’s-gonna-stop-me! feeling. It’s a false-positive. The whole day stretches out before you, and everything feels like an exclamation point:  I’m going to wash my car! I’m going to tackle my toilet! I’m going to do laundry! I’m going to clean out that fridge! and go grocery shopping! for organic-only food! and come home! and make it with intention! and invite people over! and – oh! I should throw a party! Something small, with a select few people, or forty people! The possibilities seem endless when you’re surfing the natural high of Vitamin D, even for Unmotivated Me. I start making lists and envisioning a future where ‘sunny days’ and ‘completed tasks’ mean virtually the same thing.  But coming down off this high is like waking up after a weeklong acid trip:  you remember it was a good time, but you have nothing to show for it except Teva tan lines and a summer cold.

Now it’s raining, which gives me permission to do all sorts of things, like nap in the gloomy gray of our Seattle skies. Draw, paint. Read a book from cover to cover. Bundle up. Make hot drinks. Write to my heart’s content. Take a bath, even in our tiny tub. Watch movies from our bed. Eat comfort food. And on and on. ALL THE COLD WEATHER FUN I COULD WANT. Of course, all I’ll do on this list today is bundle up, eat comfort food, and nap. There are worse things in life, that’s for sure.

Written by sn0tteh

September 6, 2009 at 11:56 AM

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. and I will be cold, lonely and nude on some rooftop deep in the city….looking for love.

    sigh.

    Henchbot

    September 6, 2009 at 12:10 PM

  2. @henchbot I’ve got binoculars. I’ll keep a lookout for you!

    sn0tteh

    September 6, 2009 at 12:11 PM

  3. Yes yes and yes. I have many ambitions for today, but I know I’ll just end up on the comfort food/hot drinks/nap/couch & movies end. 🙂

    posiegirl

    September 6, 2009 at 12:13 PM

  4. @posiegirl I approve!

    sn0tteh

    September 6, 2009 at 12:32 PM

  5. i couldn’t agree more with this post…

    stacymarie

    September 9, 2009 at 2:18 PM

  6. @stacymarie I couldn’t agree more with you agreeing with me.

    sn0tteh

    September 9, 2009 at 5:43 PM


Leave a Reply

