Marika Malaea

faithful marauder + fake royal

Sunny, Happy Days

with 4 comments

On Sunday, I had one of those guilt-free, naked days of wanton leisure:  languishing in bed all day after waking at 1pm, lunch and lawyers served in bed, 200 pages of Men Who Hate Women read in-between cat naps, then rousing myself only to blog and again later for an evening barbecue on the sun-lit deck with my neighbors.

Saturday night was a going-away party for 826kateer and all-around Good Guy, Toffer, and his wife, Niki. They’re moving to Tennessee. The state. You know, it’s in The SouthHere’s the Confederate flag – and here’s its younger, look-alike cousin:  the state flag of Tennessee. Flags are fun. My best friend lives in Nashville and she’s survived so far, but I assume that’s because of her close proximity to Dollywood and all of Dolly’s go-girl energy. Seattle’s totems lack cheek and nerve and, despite the Space Needle’s white-bread machismo, it lacks balls. The Experience Music Project looks like a blind, violent toddler mashed metallic human organs together with Scotch tape and a bright red tarp, and it’s considered ‘genius?’ Please.
Friday night was a birthday bash to end all birthday bashes for Sarabear, where we said good-bye to her 26th year and also her humble home. I’ll miss the Blue House a lot – we had some fun times there, the kind where you wake up with just one sock on and mortifying cell phone pictures.  That night – by this time, morning –  we ended up moving the party to our place so my neighbor could grill some bacon-wrapped shrimp and chicken for us, therefore convincing us that 3AM is the only time to barbecue. We all sat on the deck, seven or eight of us, chatting until 4ish; I made it into bed by dawn. It was a brilliant evening.

Speaking of genius, lately I’ve been getting my inspiration from Kaki King, the amazing sand art of Jim Deneven (as well as his incredible outdoor long-table feasts), the three potato four blog, Chiang’s Gourmet Chinese food, Zero Punctuation’s hilarious reviews, this Harry Nilsson cover (that we saw live), Smitten Kitchen’s crepe cake, grilled peaches with butter and brown sugar (or creme fraiche and mint), the Swedish language, and this amazing family portrait that Yours Truly appears in (I’m the robot).

I’ve been writing, writing, writing – almost have the profiles done for you Hugo House peeps. Thanks for your patience! I’ll post them before I leave for Breitenbush this month. My zombie foot is getting much better, and I should be walking without crutches by the end of the month (fingers and Achilles tendons crossed). And maybe by Christmas, my leg will quit shedding, and by my birthday next May, I’ll be able to dress myself, and by next summer I’ll be the new-and-improved Eliza freaking Doolittle, pronouncing my R’s and employing a milliner. Whatever my fate, I’m at least onto the next stage. Oh, and I’m addicted to the Spicy Nacho Doritos now.

Written by sn0tteh

September 2, 2009 at 1:59 AM

Posted in Uncategorized

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I had a nice comment all lined up for this post, and then you mentioned Spicy Nacho Doritos.

    Oh, the cravings.

    Badass Geek

    September 2, 2009 at 8:00 AM

  2. I was introduced to them at the party on Saturday. I wish I’d never known of their spicy, addictive existence.

    sn0tteh

    September 2, 2009 at 9:59 AM

  3. Did I hear something about grilled peaches and brown sugar? *drool*

    Manthony

    September 3, 2009 at 11:22 AM

  4. WITH BUTTER, ANTHONY. WITH BUTTER.

    sn0tteh

    September 3, 2009 at 11:23 AM


Leave a Reply

