Marika Malaea

faithful marauder + fake royal

So You Think You’re A Cripple

with 11 comments

My zombie splint.

My zombie splint.

Smiling, despite my lack of pain pills.

Smiling, despite my lack of pain pills.

Mrs. No-Neck has surgery.

Mrs. No-Neck has surgery.

First cast, meet first kid.

First cast, meet first kid.

For those of you wondering where the hell I’ve been: I’ve been in Hell, which was sponsored in part by my ripped-off Achilles tendon. Living between my parents’ home and the Esq’s family home since what seems like the beginning of time – but in reality is more like the past three weeks – has taken its toll on everyone. I am finally back in the apartment that I love, with the people that I love, amidst the stuff that I missed. Thank you to our families and friends who have been so supportive, namely our parents and Barry The Godsend, and those of you who have helped in any way you could.

To the folks who donated to my Hugo House fundraiser, I haven’t forgotten you! My goal is to get the zine sent on August 1, and I’ll figure out a July schedule for when your personalized blog posts will appear. Thank you for donating, and also for your patience! At least I have an infinite amount of time on my hands. Ha. Ha. Ha. YES, SILVER LININGS ABOUND.

Despite all of the unexpected changes that have happened due to my SPORTS-RELATED INJURY (sorry, I have to continue saying that – it sounds so foreign), I’m trying to change my perspective on things and focus on the good stuff. Like, I’m not dead. And I have three limbs, which is more than the leper colony can say. I only have, oh, thirteen weeks to go, give or take a few weeks. And I have the best boyfriend in the world – really – and the most understanding, hilarious kid ever. Although they’re both annoying at times, I take comfort in the fact that I’m doubly so… and this time, with a legitimate reason.

*grin*

Written by sn0tteh

July 10, 2009 at 5:31 PM

11 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Ok, I’m pissed because you look good in your hospital get-up. That is just not fair. I looked like the Stay-Puff Marshmallow Man with a diaper on when I was there.

    Also, were you wearing a bra? (don’t worry, I can’t tell.)

    Carrie

    July 10, 2009 at 7:02 PM

  2. Thanks! Yeah, I was surprised when I saw the pics, like – hmm, no they aren’t the best I’ve taken, but WHO CARES I’M HAVING SURGERY. I also thought if I died on the table, at least I’d have decent photos of for the news of Right Before She Perished. People love that shit.

    sn0tteh

    July 10, 2009 at 7:22 PM

  3. Also: I don’t remember about the bra. Maybe? Actually, I think no. They said to strip except for my drawers if I wanted to, and my reply was ‘Heh. It’s laundry day.’

    sn0tteh

    July 10, 2009 at 7:28 PM

  4. Ha! Braless Snotty, documented on film for our viewing pleasure. Sweeeeet.

    I remember they made me strip completely for my TONSILECTOMY. Dumb. They lasered my mouth. Woopdie-freakin’-doo. Still, I allowed no photography. Yes, I’m that vain.

    Carrie

    July 10, 2009 at 7:44 PM

  5. Wow! Well good luck with the convalescing, you’ll need it with that kind of injury. Not being able to get around is a total pain in the arse.

    heather

    July 11, 2009 at 10:51 AM

  6. Whenever something happens with my body, that sucks, I just tell myself “Self; well at least you don’t have a dick.”

    BreeSeliot

    July 11, 2009 at 11:54 AM

  7. @heather The pain pills help. So does yelling at people.

    sn0tteh

    July 11, 2009 at 12:55 PM

  8. @Bree ROFL and yes, it’s true.

    sn0tteh

    July 11, 2009 at 12:56 PM

  9. You look great! Is cutting asparagus a sport now, or is this a new injury?

    theperverse

    July 11, 2009 at 10:40 PM

  10. i am just glad you are okay, did not die, and have your limbs. it could be worse, it can always be worse.
    i like that the kid has matching shorts to your cast. and yes the purple get up suits you, who knew?

    mafiamama

    July 14, 2009 at 8:49 AM

  11. @mafia I’m glad you’re still alive, too!

    sn0tteh

    July 15, 2009 at 10:33 PM


Leave a Reply

