Marika Malaea

faithful marauder + fake royal

And The Winner Is…

with 6 comments

Pork: a subtle way to say 'I love you.'

Do you love someone? Say it with pork.

My longtime BFF, Princess Lil’ Red – no, she’s not a rapper or an anime character – knows me better than most people do. We’ve been friends for at least 15 years, and you know what that means:  KILLER BIRTHDAY PRESENTS. Oh, and lifelong trust and ‘jump in front of a train for’ and companionship and all that, yeah. But right now I’m focused on things of real value, and by that I mean gifts that are given in honor of God’s greatest gift of all:  me.

Lil’ Red sent me bacon from Nashville’s famous Loveless Cafe – FOUR POUNDS OF IT – and it came in a BACON LUNCH PAIL, as seen in the photo above. Why are they on my bed, you ask? So I can make sweet love to them later, that’s why.

Even though my birthday is on Thursday (this phrase will be repeated to you ad nauseum all week), I needed a little booster tonight due to a slice of Life I’m having to eat, which tastes a lot like crow; guess I’ll wash it down with this tall glass-O-drama. Luckily, everything tastes better with bacon.

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Bacon really is the best way to say “Happy Birthday.”

    Libby

    May 5, 2009 at 1:01 PM

  2. It’s the only way!!! 🙂

    sn0tteh

    May 5, 2009 at 1:14 PM

  3. IMHO, the best pork products are being consumed in Spain.

    Just one of my favorites is thick-as-your-finger slabs of bacon, deep-fried – I forget what they are called. It’s some serious stuff.

    Tourpro

    May 5, 2009 at 1:24 PM

  4. When I saw it in the catalog after Sunday breakfast, I KNEW it was meant for you (especially that it came in a sort-of-weird bacon lunchbox). It is truly some of the most delicious bacon…here in Nashville everyone knows how to properly prepare the pig.

    LilRed

    May 5, 2009 at 2:10 PM

  5. Suh-weet! Truly a gift from the heart (of the matter).

    Manthony

    May 5, 2009 at 5:09 PM

  6. nothing says “you’re getting older” like a tin of swine flu! 🙂

    oh, wait, i thought i was posting on the skinny vegan baby forum.

    nevermind.
    now i want bacon…

    Matt

    May 5, 2009 at 9:32 PM


Leave a Reply

