Marika Malaea

faithful marauder + fake royal

‘Laureate’ Sounds So Official

with 8 comments

My liege.

My liege.

This year, I am a Hugo House laureate. That’s just a fancy term for ‘fund raiser,’ but nevertheless, I am very excited to be around actual writers and no bloggers. And even if there’s a fuckton of bloggers there, I’ll be like ‘Blob? What’s a blob? Never heard of it.’ And then I’ll condescendingly walk away.

I’ll post how to pony up some dough after May 8, when my profile goes up on their website. I’m also looking forward to the writing prompts and adding some stories to the book (“WHAT BOOK?!”) so that I’m ready to sell-out on Oprah at a moment’s notice. I saw my dream house the other day in Greenwood, and it’s imperative that I buy it, even though the current owners seem perfectly content there. They aren’t, and I aim to convince them of that in the next two years. Hence the reason I need a million laundered dollars, like, tomorrow.

I had an epic thing I was going to write, but then I read this post on Hairshirt and realized he had written it for me. So read that and you’ll know why I’m on here infrequently. Also, I’m lazy.

Since we’re going to have Oren for the summer, I worry I’m going to become a mommy blogger – but figure I say ‘fuck’ and ‘Hitler’ enough to offend the mommy mindset. At least he’s not a wee one; that way, my writing won’t be focused on my failing nipples or wrapped around a Diaper Genie. However, I’m giving you fair warning: we won’t have Oren until June, but I’m sure he’ll be a big part of the blog this summer. I’m very excited for him to be here! (If only we had room for him.)

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Ooooh, a Laureate!!! It all sounds so official! (Great resume fodder too.) After you go on Oprah, you’d better dish ALL about it.

    Manthony

    April 29, 2009 at 6:57 PM

  2. I will, I will – after I make Sherman Alexie my new best friend.

    sn0tteh

    April 29, 2009 at 8:34 PM

  3. how lovely to see YOU associated with Hugo–that makes me love both of you even that much more, if that were possible.

    cass nevada

    April 29, 2009 at 9:06 PM

  4. Flattery, I assure you, will get you everywhere. Hugo House is the best! πŸ™‚ I’m glad you are acquainted.

    sn0tteh

    April 29, 2009 at 9:19 PM

  5. Do you get a special hat to wear? Because that will make it even cooler…

    Libby

    April 30, 2009 at 4:44 PM

  6. Yes! I think it’s cone-shaped, and I’ll probably be sitting in a corner.

    sn0tteh

    April 30, 2009 at 4:51 PM

  7. I hate Oprah. But if you’re on her show, i will call in sick and stay home to watch you!!

    Nicki

    May 4, 2009 at 2:35 AM

  8. Sweet! I need more lemmings.

    sn0tteh

    May 4, 2009 at 4:40 AM


Leave a Reply

