Marika Malaea

faithful marauder + fake royal

Magazine Whore, Self-Outed

with 10 comments

So many mags, so little time, money, or energy.

So many mags, so little time, money, or energy.

I applied for an internship at Seattle Magazine and, believe me, I’m just as thrilled about more unpaid indentured servitude as you are. I was unimpressed with the application questions – they were a little pedantic and yawn-worthy – but ‘What periodicals do you read and why?’ was my favorite one. Mostly because I hadn’t thought about it before, and I’m a huge fan of magazines. My favorites, and the reasons why I read them, are as follows:

Giant Robot:  they have the kinds of bands, books, toys, and interviews that – if I remember them while talking to other people – make me sound way cooler than I am in reality. They also scoop the best up-and-coming artists before any other mag.

Martha Stewart Kids:  Martha’s main magazine has recipes, projects, organization tips, and gift ideas that are successfully made by DIY robots with nine arms and no lives; the kids magazine has the same great ideas, only it’s geared towards the skill level and attention span of a 10-year old. None of my friends read it, so when I make a gift or try a recipe, people never know where it comes from. Until now.

The Believer:  when I’m on a search for new literary heroes, this is what I read.

Flaunt:  this is a good magazine for feeling ugly in a beautiful way, and totally underground. It’s also the best magazine for collage/creative work, because they use the very best paper. This is one of those $12 magazines that exactly 89 people read; I am one of those people.

Seattle Magazine: I read it for the lists, alerts to new businesses in town, dining recommendations, and to see if I know anyone featured (so I can hate them).  I also read it to keep current on Tom Skerritt and Josie Bissett’s whereabouts, since those are the only two ‘local celebrities’ Seattle Magazine ever talks about. I know we have better ones than that, Seattle – Freddie Ljundberg, anyone? I mean, this man walks among us, IN. OUR. CITY. Fuck Tom Skerritt.

City Arts Seattle: when I’m searching for hometown literary heroes, I read this magazine.

The Stranger: I read this because I love a few writers there, and to see what concerts are coming to town. I read the Seattle Weekly to make fun of all the AWFUL writing. Oh man, it’s highschool newspaper-bad, and highly entertaining. I know, I’m a judgmental cow, whatever.

Wallpaper*: I’m a modern design and furniture junkie with a love for heavy, glossy magazine pages. This does the trick.

Highlights Magazine: For the life lessons Goofus and Gallant can teach me. Duh.

Written by sn0tteh

March 24, 2009 at 6:28 PM

10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I am so relieved to see that you included Highlights Magazine! I mean, what better reading is there when you’re sitting in the dentist’s waiting room listening to other people getting drilled and scraped?

    I had to Google Tom Skerritt to see who the heck you were talking about. And I still have no clue who Josie Bissett is. Yes, I’m a pop culture retard. Blissfully so!

  2. Modern Drunkard
    Draft
    Beer Advocate
    Beer Northwest

    I don’t have a problem. I can quit anytime I want. Heck, I’ve already quit twice.

    Mike

    March 24, 2009 at 9:59 PM

  3. UH HUH. 😛

    sn0tteh

    March 25, 2009 at 2:32 AM

  4. And if you lived in London, we’d be delighted to have you as an intern at Wallpaper* magazine. Great blog btw!

    Kay

    March 25, 2009 at 11:49 AM

  5. Dude…you forgot the Bridal Magazines.

    Buttercup

    March 26, 2009 at 7:24 AM

  6. I DON’T KNOW WHAT YOU’RE TALKING ABOUT, COURTNEY.

    sn0tteh

    March 26, 2009 at 7:56 AM

  7. Thanks Buttercup, I KNEW there was something missing from this list but I couldn’t put my finger on it… Snotty, you’ve been OUTED!

    Manthony

    March 26, 2009 at 2:26 PM

  8. I REALLY DO NOT KNOW WHAT YOU COULD POSSIBLY BE TALKING ABOUT.

    sn0tteh

    March 26, 2009 at 4:25 PM

  9. Whatever…own it, lady!

    My choices would be:

    US Weekly, In Touch, Soap Opera Digest, Dog Fancy, Cat Fancy, Seattle Magazine, Sunset Magazine and Glamour.

    If it makes you feel better, KJ still gets Seventeen Magazine. (Admittedly, I read it when I come over. )

    Buttercup

    March 26, 2009 at 6:43 PM

  10. NOPE. But thanks for playing!

    sn0tteh

    March 26, 2009 at 7:34 PM


Leave a Reply

