Marika Malaea

faithful marauder + fake royal

Minding Mind

with 5 comments


Oh look, a symbol for our spiritual well-being and the inner peace within!   Or something like that. My adventure into the East West Bookstore yesterday with Califlower unearthed these awesome book titles:

Arriving At Your Own Door
The Idiot’s Guide to Mindfulness
Awaken to Superconsciousness!
Commit To Sit
Minding Mind
Intuition For Starters
If It Hurts, It Isn’t Love

You Are the Blessings
Natural-Born Soulmates
The Tao of Physics
The Web That Has No Weaver
The Way of the Shaman
Chakras & Their Archetypes
Wherever You Go, There You Are
Dervish Yoga
The Raw Truth: The Art of Preparing Living Foods
Is My Chakra Pretty?
Women Who Run With the Wolves
Making Love With Light
Wake Up To Your Life!
Taoist Cosmic Healing
Going On Being
The Karma of Untruthfulness
Prelude to Ascension
To Ride a Silver Broomstick
Spontaneous Healing
Internal Martial Arts
Trance-formers
Invoking the Light
Earth Magic
Messages From Your Animal Spirit Guides
The Dolphin: Story of a Dreamer
Creating Peace By Being Peace
Us & Them: Understanding Your Tribal Mind
2012 Awakening
The Thing About Life Is One Day You’ll Be Dead

And of course the ‘Manifest a Miracle’ Reiki Energy-Charged candle. Of course.

What a scam. Titles I ran across that I’d actually read: A New Earth (didn’t finish it), The Four Agreements, everything Byron Katie (remember that New Year’s Cleanse I did with the parents in L.A.? That was Katie), Conversations With God, and Dolphin: Story of a Dreamer. Just kidding.

While I was there, I had the brilliant idea of running through the store screaming OM BITCHES, and was even offered a dollar to do it (which I then leveraged into $10, and then I leveraged that into $100 – pitting friends against friends isn’t very spiritual, but neither is a room filled with total bullshit), but my girlfriend loves the bookstore. Also, she wouldn’t have given me a ride home if we’d been kicked out. Practicality first.

If you love this kind of thing, great – it works for some people. But for me, it seems like noise. Entertaining, yes – helpful to me, no. I smelled like Nag fucking Champa all day, and I hate that stenchy stuff. I know all of you Seattleites love it and want to roll around in it until you smell like a proper college dorm room, but it gets two thumbs down from me. It’s harder to get out of your clothes than the smell of cat pee or methamphetamines, and all so you can stink like a hippie. No, thanks.

Anyways, I’m going to go make love to some light now and spontaneously heal so I can properly awaken.

Written by sn0tteh

March 17, 2009 at 5:04 PM

Posted in Uncategorized

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Sweet post! I’m thinking you could write “Bitchez Who Run With the Bacon” or something to that effect and build a personal new-age empire out of it.

    Manthony

    March 17, 2009 at 6:44 PM

  2. I laughed at the dolphin book. I’m surprised you didn’t add “Behold a Pale Horse” (which is a favorite of shoplifters… that and the Bible) or “Creative Visualization,” or some other New Age oldies-but-goodies. OH, and if you do decide to run through the bookstore shouting OM BITCHES! then I hope you have someone videotaping. That would be seriously shweet!

  3. HOLY SHIT MANTHONY – that is a good idea. But…. cookbook? or just book-book? Maybe it will be the title of my first romance novel. 😀

    sn0tteh

    March 18, 2009 at 4:21 PM

  4. I didn’t see Behold a Pale Horse (WTF?) – and I LMAO at the thought of people stealing the Bible. Knuckleheads.

    sn0tteh

    March 18, 2009 at 4:22 PM

  5. If you are undecided, why not write it as a cookbook AND a romance novel!?!?! (A cockbook! Sort of…)

    Manthony

    March 20, 2009 at 1:57 AM


Leave a Reply

