Marika Malaea

faithful marauder + fake royal

All Hail, Bread Loaf

with 5 comments

Robin's website is almost done...

Robin's website is almost done...

Moving right along…

I’m working on a website for my friend, Robin, who is a fantastic photographer – it’s more challenging than I’d bargained for, because I’m not trying to highlight his words, I’m trying to highlight his photos. And I’m a self-described Word Nerd.  Two very different goals, indeed – but despite my learning curve, I’m hoping to finish it by Wednesday.

I’m working on a website for our close friend/massage therapist, Sara Rose – you might know her as Whoreleen – because GODDAMNIT she’s the *best* and deserves to make millions and go on vacation.  I’m also excited to get her started with some Web 2.0 stuff, so that she can expand her business:  Twitter, Facebook, social networking meet-ups, etc.  I’m hoping to have that done by Friday.

I’m working on a website for a local band that will funk your funking socks off:  Eldridge Gravy (funk! funk! funk! funk!) and the Court Supreme (dirrrtaaaaaay), is an all-out dirty funk band that has a huge following.  My job:  to get a website up, do a little PR jig, get the right people to their shows, and give them more of an online presence.  I’m hoping to have stuff done next week – I’m still trying to create a cool header in Illustrator for the site.

I’m working on a blog makeover for a wonderful business that will be announced at a later date – probably right after I finish.  That will keep me busy through the end of March, I think – there are photo shoots and write-ups to be done before it goes live again.  But food is involved, which makes me very happy!

I’m still working with Lucid lounge on expanding their reach – right now, they need peeps on Sundays, but I’m hoping that our Big Blog meetup with Monica (from the Seattle P.I.) on Wednesday, March 4th, will give them some much-needed exposure.  Glad we could set that up – a big thanks goes out to Monica, who has been incredibly supportive to our cause (Ravenna Nation) and to our neighborhood.

I still have this blog, which desperately wants attention – but when a household gets a new baby, the baby gets the spotlight, if only for a little while.  When I’m not working on Ravenna Nation, I’m usually working on my submissions for Bread Loaf, which also takes precedence over the blog.   Once my submissions are sent, I’ll be able to breathe a little easier.  And hopefully pay more attention to Snotty.

We’re plugging away at our combined-efforts blog, Ravenna Nation, like two amateur reporters at a high school newspaper.  This takes a lot of time and energy, mostly because I don’t know what I’m doing.  But I’m getting to know a lot of key people, and I’m looking forward to the Seattle P.I. meet-up in our area; we’re actually the “special guests”!  🙂  WEIRD and AWESOME.

I’m sensing a theme here….

On top of this, I am:  sending out a few resumes a day for any gig at all (I’m a Craigslist stalker), being somebody’s whiny girlfriend, being the monster’s weekend parent, writing a magazine article, churning out essays for submissions elsewhere, trying to bake for my beloved cake blog (must. update. today.), being a daughter/friend/neighbor/volunteer, training for a half-marathon (just got my training schedule yesterday, although I’ve been haunting Green Lake for the past few weeks – my cousin and I have gone insane and are doing this together), pretending I don’t *need* painted toenails/waxed eyebrows/colored hair/new shoes, and then – at some point – trying to have a life.  Hardy har.  Har.

I’m tired.

Written by sn0tteh

February 23, 2009 at 5:32 PM

Posted in Uncategorized

Tagged with , , ,

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. If your new regime includes walking Greenlake, let me know. Its on my list of “need to start doing now” and itd be nice to have a pack of other rabid females to do it in. 🙂

    Shannon

    February 23, 2009 at 6:01 PM

  2. I’ve been going at least twice a week! I’ll let you know what’s UP.

    sn0tteh

    February 23, 2009 at 6:25 PM

  3. I think you might possibly be the busiest unemployed person I know. Congratulations on the momentum!

    Wendy

    February 23, 2009 at 9:35 PM

  4. Isn’t “Bread Loaf” one of the coolest and simplest names ever? Even though it is redundant, it still works. Somehow, when I try to come up with similar types of names I fail. “Water Liquid” and “Banana Fruit” don’t have quite the same appeal. Maybe if I stick with one-syllable words? “Cat Pet” perhaps, or “Talk Phone.”

    Yep, that must be part of the secret.

    Sounds like you are a busy, busy lady. Hope you are earning a little bit for your efforts! If not, at least you are laying the groundwork for a fabulous future in PR. You know, like Edina or Samantha. You can totally “PR” things.

    Manthony

    February 24, 2009 at 12:18 AM

  5. When I get rich, you’ll be the first person to come with me babe.

    All Hail Queen Marika!

    Sara Rose

    March 4, 2009 at 5:13 AM


Leave a Reply

