Marika Malaea

faithful marauder + fake royal

Chirping, Whirring, Banging…

with 13 comments


Above: Tock, my favorite half of the best onomatopoeia.

Grizzle suggested I post something containing onomatopoeia, and so here are my favorites:

Beep!

*BANG*

boing–boing–boing

Chirp…chirp…

Ding-dong.

Glugglugglug.

GUFFAW.

Hoot!

Miaooooow.

OINK, OINK.

Pitter-patter…

PLOP.

SMASHSMASHSMASH.

*Squelch*

THWACK!

Tick-tock, tick-tock…

Twannnng.

Tweet!

Whirrrr.

WOOF.

Zip!

You guys have any personal favorites?

[RADWORDS]: TWEET, BANG, ZIP, PLOP, TICK TOCK.

Written by sn0tteh

November 10, 2008 at 5:12 PM

Posted in Uncategorized

13 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’m astonished you didn’t list “hork.”
    some of my faves:

    “Clunk” (the sound of a head hitting wood)

    “Splat” (the sound of the defenistrated)

    “Hup” (the sound of exertion as a Belgian cyclist tops a hill (i am not actually making this up))

    “Nom nom nom” (the sound of cute person eating delicious food)

    matt

    November 10, 2008 at 6:59 PM

  2. *HORK*! I overused it two years ago, it has less meaning now. But I totally use NOM NOM NOM a lot. Definitely one of my faves.

    Snotty McSnotterson

    November 10, 2008 at 8:09 PM

  3. Cha-Ching!

    Snap!

    WhupWhupWhup…

    Pfftuii.

    I might be consulting Finnegan’s Wake when I get home tonight…

    FreNeTic

    November 10, 2008 at 11:22 PM

  4. Well, I sorta meant that someone (usually a woman who acts *ahem* like a teen) who overidentifies herself with the kawaii ideal, and sees herself and everything she does through a lens of extreme cuteness. The kind of person who uses “OMG” in actual conversation (pronounced “Oh-Em-Gee”), which bloggers sometimes do, but without any sense of irony.
    I can think of some ugly people who eat with a *SPLORK*
    Gross.

    matt

    November 11, 2008 at 1:06 AM

  5. Also, you’re cute, don’t get so damned defensive. ^_^

    I’m going to eat now. I’ll make notes of my sounds…

    matt

    November 11, 2008 at 1:07 AM

  6. I rather like “miaou” (cat) and “meuh” (cow); but then, I think everything reads more chic in French.

    “Nom nom nom” is for sure one of the best!

    As is, “Beep!” (Especially if you are trying to sound like a robot!)

    Manthony

    November 11, 2008 at 1:18 AM

  7. Griz, only you would own a copy of Finnegan’s Wake. Well, you and me (but I loaned it out years ago, so I’m technically someone who USED to own that shit-crazy fuckerpants book).

    Snotty McSnotterson

    November 11, 2008 at 1:32 AM

  8. Matt, OHEMGEE, you still didn’t tell me what an ugly person sounds like (you are not an ugly person)…

    Maybe something like GNASH GNASH NOM.

    Snotty McSnotterson

    November 11, 2008 at 1:33 AM

  9. My favorite robot sound: “Bee-boo-baa-boe-beep!”

    Snotty McSnotterson

    November 11, 2008 at 1:34 AM

  10. *barf*

    Bananasana

    November 11, 2008 at 11:47 PM

  11. Barf, indeed. And so we’re back to *hork*!

    Snotty McSnotterson

    November 12, 2008 at 8:14 AM

  12. Hmmm, interesting way of spelling “meow.”

    I like “hiccup!” And absolutely loooooooved The Phantom Tollbooth!!

    Dorkys Ramos

    November 13, 2008 at 6:44 PM

  13. Hooray for Phantom! (Tollbooth, not Opera–although I liked both) ‘Miao’ is my favorite way to spell ‘miao’. Miao.

    Snotty McSnotterson

    November 13, 2008 at 7:23 PM


Leave a Reply

