Marika Malaea

faithful marauder + fake royal

I Scream For Ice Cream

with 4 comments

Photo: Cory’s felted dream girl.

A conversation to be noted for no apparent reason:

*sound of the ice cream truck nearby*

Cory: Yes! I love this time of night.
Me: I feel…awkward.
Cory: You feel awkward?
Me: *nods*
Cory: Man, that guy must get tons of tail.
Me: *laughs*

*the ice cream truck gets louder*

Me: Oh my God! Do you know what song is playing?
Cory: No.
Me: The theme song from Boomerang. You know, the kids’ show?
Cory: Never heard of it.
Me: *excited* Yeah! It was really cool–they sang this song and were, I don’t know, there were big letters that spelled out ‘BOOMERANG’ and at the end they jumped off the top of a barn into a pile of hay. (wistfully) That always looked like a lot of fun.
Cory: Whatever.

*ice cream truck drives away*

Me: What kind of shows did you watch as a kid?
Cory: The usual. Sesame Street when I was young, The New Zoo Revue–
Me: –what?
Cory: You never saw The New Zoo Revue? It was coool.
Me: I don’t remember watching a whole lot of TV. We just watched what our parents wanted us to, I guess.
Cory: You missed OUT.
Me: But we always watched Saturday morning cartoons. Man, I loved those Fraggle Rock fuckers.
Cory: *sings* Dance your cares away, worries for another day, let the music playyy, down at Fraggle Rock! *clapclap* Down at Fraggle Rock!
Me: So you’ve heard of it?
Cory: Nah.

Written by sn0tteh

May 13, 2008 at 3:05 AM

Posted in Fraggle Rock

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Just so you know, I saw Marni Nixon (host of Boomerang) at Town Hall last spring. Took my dad. She was still cool, although she didn’t jump into any hay. Dammit!

    Manthony

    May 13, 2008 at 3:52 PM

  2. a boomerang, a boomerang, what does it do it comes back to you like a boomerang, boomerang, bing-bong-bang-it’s boomerang! It’s a funny looking thing bouncing like an airplane wing and when you throw it high in the sky-SING A LONG NOW!!!

    Miss ya

    shannon

    May 17, 2008 at 9:52 PM

  3. Wow, I can’t believe you know all the words! You’re not a mom for nothin’.

    I miss you too!

    Snotty McSnotterson

    May 17, 2008 at 10:11 PM

  4. Red was my faveorite fraggle!

    Marko

    May 29, 2008 at 10:26 PM


Leave a Reply

